IST : The International School of Toulouse
Student Showcase Primary school Secondary school Student Support Learning Technology Extra Curricular Calendar of events and school schedule Parent Associations Registration Virtual tour


Students in Year 10 and Year 11 follow a two-year course of study leading to examinations set by The University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate (UCLES). Every year, schools and colleges in more than one hundred countries offer courses for over one million students in UCLES examinations.

On completion of their examinations, students will receive an IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education) in every subject in which they have been successful. In Languages, students may receive separate qualifications in Language and Literature.

The IGCSE is a qualification equivalent in standard to the British GCSE and the International GCE 'O' Level. It provides a curriculum to guide students in making decisions about further study or employment. It also provides a foundation for higher level courses such as the International Baccalaureate, the North American Advanced Placement Test (APT), GCE 'A' Levels and the Advanced International Certificate of Education (AICE).

Design & Technology
Assessment Techniques
Physical Education
International Baccalaureate


An important principle of this examination is that students are rewarded for positive achievement - what they know, understand and can do - rather than being penalised for an accumulation of errors.

As well as testing whether students can recall information and present it in an orderly manner, the curriculum encourages:

  • The development of oral and practical skills
  • An investigative approach
  • The use of initiative to solve problems
  • The application of skills, knowledge and understanding
  • The ability to undertake individual projects and to work as part of a team.


The IGCSE examination is suitable for virtually the whole ability range. It has an 8-point scale of grades: A*, A, B, C, D, E, F and G. (Grade A* is awarded for exceptional levels of achievement).

To take account of differing abilities, there is a choice between Core and Extended curriculum papers in most subjects. This allows teachers to decide on the most appropriate level of papers for their students.

The Core curriculum in each subject is within the ability range of a large majority of students. It provides a full overview of the subject and is targeted at students expected to achieve grades D to G.

The Extended curriculum, which comprises the Core curriculum and the Supplement, has been designed for the more academically able and leads naturally into higher education or professional training. It is targeted at those expected to achieve grades A to C. The Supplement describes the extra topics or depth, which must be added to the Core to produce the Extended curriculum.

Students need not enter for the same level of curriculum in all subjects.

Core Curriculum D E F G C D E F G
Extended Curriculum A B C  A* A B C D E

The overlap of three grades(C, D and E) is designed to accommodate students who perform either better or worse than their teachers expect. Students who fail to meet the minimum satisfactory standard for either the core curriculum (Grade G) or the Extended curriculum (Grade E) will be ungraded.